gerbonis Ministry of the Interior of the Republic of Latvia

Non-citizens of Latvia will be able to entry into the EU Member States without a visa

As from 19 January 2007, the non-citizens of Latvia will be able to travel without a visa to Norway, Iceland, and the Member States of the European Union with the exception of the Great Britain and Ireland, since the Regulation approved by the Council of Europe has been published in the Official Journal of the European Union on December 20th by amending Regulation (EC) No. 539/2001 and providing several changes in the field of visas. The most important for Latvia is the condition, which provides automatic exemption from the visa requirements for individuals who are not nationals of any country, who are permanent residents of a Member State of the European Union and hold a travel document issued by such a Member State.

According to the information provided by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs: other amendments include conditions that stipulate transfer of Bolivia from the country list of Annex II to the Regulation (countries the nationals of which are exempt from the visa requirements for entry into the Member States) to the list of Annex I (countries the nationals of which require a visa for entry into the Member States) meaning that nationals of Bolivia will need a visa to entry into the territory of the Member States. The changes also apply to entry into Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Mauritius, Saint Kitts-Nevis, and Seychelles. Upon delisting of the above-mentioned countries from Annex I to the Regulation, the visa requirement for entry of nationals of the said countries into the EU will be cancelled and non-visa agreements with the said countries on behalf of all the EU Member States will be concluded respectively. According to the provisions of the amendments to the Regulation, citizens of the said countries will be able to entry into the territory of the Member States after conclusion of agreements on cancellation of the visa regime among the said countries and the EU Commission in order to ensure the principle of parity in visa-free travel.
Currently, citizens of the Republic of Latvia may entry Mauritius and Seychelles without a visa.

As informed earlier, political agreement between the Minister of Justice and the Minister of the Interior of the European Union about the amendments to Regulation (EC) No. 539/2001 was achieved already during the meeting of December 4th, which was an important step for sooner approval of the regulation.

Diana Bogdanova
Head of the Press and Public Relations Division of
the Office of Citizenship and Migration Affairs
Tel.: 7219185; Mob. tel.: 26435463